top of page

The New Improved Aly Northrup


Well I guess this is officially my last email. It has been a ride. I have been, as Alma says, changed through the Atonement of Jesus Christ. It was quite an amazing week though. I can't think of a better way to leave then baptizing Mary and Jason. Their baptism was so incredible. Many members came to support them as they make this new commitment to Heavenly Father. Mary's nonmember family came to support her as well. Afterward her son who just got out of jail was sitting in the back reading the Book of Mormon! After Jason was baptized he tried to swim around in the font hahaha. Everyone thought it was really cute:) Sister McCrae and I were going to do our musical number again, but she was running a bit late... So I sang acapella instead. It went pretty well and the Spirit was very strong. It was a tender mercy as well to see them recieve the Holy Ghost on Sunday. Tons of our investigators came this week and got to witness it which is great for them to see what they can recieve after they get baptized. Sammi is doing very well and we are excited to teach her mom more about the gospel as well. Early this week she called telling us a boy she likes and her had a falling out. This boy happened to be her fellowship so we weren't sure how things would turn out. We ran over to have a lesson early in the morning. I told Sister Tayco before going in that we needed to listen more than speak. She opened up and said she felt like she needed to be meeting with us more often. She decided that instead of meeting with Sam, she wanted us to have lessons in her home with her mom so she could learn too! What!? We have been praying to teach her family for so long an it is happening. The Lord played a huge role in her breakup haha! God's ways are higher than ours. What seem to us as trials can may just be the driving factor of spiritual growth. I am grateful the Spirit told us to listen instead of just rushing in to fix things. Miracle! Briella is also doing amazing and is going to be baptized really soon! Brother Marecle told me his family lives in twin and is probably going up for the baptism and that I could hitch a ride with them for it!!!!! Yay!!!! I am going to have to come back all the time for all these baptisms that are happening right after I go home. Miracle!

We were invited to a BYD last night with the youth. The Elders and us got to answer their questions about mission life and how to prepare. It went really well. It was so weird to look at those youth and not be one of them anymore. I am old! I also couldn't stop thinking about my brother. I am more proud of him than I can explain. He has always been such an amazing example to me of service, love, and peace. He is going to change so many people's lives and bring them to the truth. There is nothing in the world like a mission. Young men if you are wavering in your decision... don't. Go. School, marriage, military, are all good things, but they are nothing compared to the experience of a mission. You will learn more than you could learn anywhere else. Same advice goes to girls who would like to serve or are even considering serving. Our world is changing rapidly for the worse.. We need to have testimonies that can withstand any storm. If our feet are not firmly planted in Christ, if our lives are not completly centered, we will be thrown off course. Keeping this in mind I need everyone's help that is reading this. My mission has changed me and I plan on staying that way. Please feel free to message me on facebook or text me starting next week and ask me if I am reading my scriptures everyday and what I learned. Share with me what you are learning too. As we help one another hold fast to the iron rod, we will end up where we want to be. Eternal life. Thank you to everyone who has supported me during this time. My wonderful ward family, friends, and of course my immediate family. So many have given money, letters, gifts, and love that I will never forget. You have helped make my mission a success. Washington is home. It will always have my heart. It has been a blessing to spend 18 months serving my God in the Washington Federal Way Mission of Zion!!!! See you all soon<3


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page