top of page

Slow down.....Please!!

Hello Everyone! It hardly felt like a week... more like I blinked and here we are again. We are busy busy missionaries right now! We almost can't fit everything in that we need to do everyday. Mary and Jason are doing fantastic. One of our lessons with Mary this week was about Tithing. Let me remind you Mary lost her trailer a few months ago and has almost nothing. Almost immediatly she said she would pay her tithing. As we talked about fasting she told us she would like to fast just for all the things she is grateful for. This Lady! My heart is filled with just so much love for her and Jason. Their example to me of putting God first no matter what circumstance has changed the way I look at life. The Gospel is all we need. I reflect on the scriptures in the bible where Christ tells His apostles not to worry about food or clothes, but put first their calling to preach the gospel. It has been the greatest privilege to forget the world and be lost in this great cause. I wish I could stay here for good. My heart was also touched as we did service for Mary. Out in the pouring rain, covered in mud, we cleaned up bags and bags of burnt clothes and other items ruined by the explosion. It was the greatest service we could give her to try and remove some of the memory of such a large loss in her life. Plus playing in the mud was very fun for me;) Sister Tayco didn't enjoy it as much hahaha. There were mice all over in the clothes and so I was poking it with a stick. One ran out right towards Sister Tayco hahaha. She screamed and fell backwards into the mud! Hahaha!! Pretty hilarious.

Melvin gave me an assignment this week. (surprises never end with this guy) He told me that as he was praying and study he kept thinking about T I P.. T I P... Then he got it. Heavenly Father is going to reveal to him if he should be baptized on April 15th at a certain time, place, and if he has a certain intent. Now haha he gave me the challenge of giving him scriptures that talk about this so he can know what the time, place, and intent are supposed to be. Let's just say I have been studying and praying myself to death trying to figure out what scriptures I need to give him... Hopefully Heavenly Father will open the windows of heaven so I won't mess this up.

Byron went to work with our ward mission leader to make some money! Things are really looking up for him. He found out the two painting sitting in his living room are work 6,000 a piece! Miracles no doubt! He has been progressing so well! I just love so many people!

Church was quite the turnout too! 7 investigators came to church! That is a record for me! I was sitting near Jason during the sacrament. I leaned over to him and explained what it meant. As our turn for the bread got close, Jason leaned over to his grandma and asked "Grandma, Do you know what the bread means?" She asked him to explain. "The bread is jesus's body and the water is his blood." He was grinning from ear to ear as he partook. I could see the light of Christ fill his eyes as he came to know his Savior a little better that day. I just cried. I am so grateful to even be apart of jason's journey in learning about Christ. This will shape who he becomes. The Gospel is the best. I can't really even describe how I am feeling right now. It is too much joy to write about. I love you all!

Your Sister in Christ,

Sister Northrup


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page