top of page

I am a Disciple of Christ


Hello friends and family! This week has been crazy and exciting and wonderful! The best weeks in missionary work is when you can't possibly fit in everything you have to get done! That was our schedule this week:) Covering 3 wards, especially these wards, makes for a lot of driving and trying not to be more than 10 minutes late to every appointment haha. I have tons of stories so I am going to categorize them by name:

First off, IVAN #1 and IVAN #2. I will explain. Ivan #1 is a black lady we recieved as a referral from the spanish elders. We stopped by one night after something fell through and she welcomed us with lots of tears and a hug. We sat down and she proceeded to tell us she had contemplated taking her life that night. She has been through some horrible things the past few weeks. We talked about the Plan of Salvation. Sister Tippets felt prompted to sing "A Child's Prayer" to here. We sang and the spirit filled the room. She calmed down and asked us to come back to help her more. She told us how much she loved us and that God knew that she needed us to stop by that night. It was a blessing to lift someone who was so burdened with the trials of life.

IVAN #2 Okay so some back story for the second Ivan. He is a black man. Haha they have the same name, same spelling but you say it different... ;) In an attempt to contact Ivan #1 I looked in the phone for her name and found someone in there named Ivan. I was sure it was her so I called. Haha it defiantly wasn't her! However, God had intervened because I invited Ivan to meet with us over the phone and he accepted. We went by and had a great lesson! He is so open and excited to learn. He has been searching for a church. He calls us all Ms instead of Sister haha. So excited to teach him more about the gospel!

ANTHONY: We met Anthony one night contacting and he informed us that his dad just passed away in a driving accident. He told us to come by his home so we did. We taught him out on his porch in the cold rain, but the Spirit defiantly was not hindered by the weather. We had one of the most powerful lessons on the Plan of Salvation. Anthony offered a heart felt prayer at the end and asked, "God, Will I ever get to see my dad again?" I lost it. Through our own tears we testified to him that if he would follow Jesus Christ he would be able to be with his dad. He willingly accepted an invitation to be baptized:)

DANIEL: This was the funny experience of the week haha. Daniel is a media referral we got. He wanted a bible. We delivered it and he said we could come in. He proceeded to tell us all about how we should all do marijuana because it cures everything hahaha. Washington is the weed capital of the world, no joke. It is a testimony to me that God is preparing all of his children to accept the gospel. Even though Daniel has some different believes he is open and willing to learn about our message! Never judge:) I am excited to go back this week an hear more of his stories!

Last but not least NOLAN JR.

Let me just say the Stratton family has changed my life. Period. I believe that a huge reason I have come back to serve in Eatonville was so that I could teach Nolan Jr. He is progressing so well! He is reading and growing a lot! We taught the Gospel of Jesus Christ and he soaked it right up. At the end I asked him how it felt to know that God had given him such a clear path to follow. He responded happy and sad. "Happy because I will get back to Heavenly Father," and with tears in his eyes he continued, "Sad because I miss him so much." As so for the 100th time this week I cried too. I felt filled with the love that his Father in Heaven had for him. I testify that he misses all of us. He wants us all to go home. I miss him so much. But He never leaves me alone. I can feel him closer to me everyday:) Nolan Jr. then offered a prayer at the end of the lesson. I have to quote this too because it was so adorable. "Heavenly Father please please let Sister Northrup stay to teach me. Please. But if not please keep her in my Spirit." Why! Then I really cried!!!! I have just never loved a family so much in my entire life!!!!!!!!!!! They mean everything to me!!!! I know that this Gospel is true. This is His Church. I love it.

Your Sister in Christ,

Sister Northrup


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page