top of page

I survived the rainiest weather in Seattle history!!


Yeah so I found out that this winter has literally been the rainiest recorded in Seattle history. Crazy! Good thing I love the rain! Not only has it been raining water but tender mercies in Federal way! This week has been so eventful! We are getting ready to have 2 baptims this Saturday and I am so excited:) I think all my converts are going to be kids haha. One girl is 9 and the other is 13 and they are so awesome! I love watching their testimonies grow and be apart of their journey in the gospel. So here are the funny moment and the miracle of the week!

We were walking after teaching a less-active in the ward and all of a sudden we hear someone yelling to us. We looked around and realized it was a lady that was up on the third floor of the apartment complex. She was yelling in a raspy voice, "HELLO! HI!" She was waving her arms around and so we finally looked up and saw her and waved back and said hi! The poor lady sounded like she smoked 5 packs a day. Then out of nowhere she yelled at the top of her lungs.. " I'M PREGNANT!! I'M GONNA HAVE A BABY!!!" My companion and I just stood there shocked and not sure how to respond hahahaha. She may or may not have been a little high haha so we just said that's awesome and kept walking! The whole time she kept yelling to us how she was pregnant and was going to have a baby. I was laughing so hard! Oh man the crazy things that people tell us is endless! It is so fun being a missionary! Miracle of the week! So we were tracting a couple weeks ago and met a lady that was so nice! While we were there I commented how much I liked her shirt! (Quick back story) In Washington everyone has striped shirts! They are technically for construction, but lots of people have other ones too! It is just a Washington thing and I have wanted one forever! Anyways she said she was busy at that time but that we could come back. Our plans fell through this pastWednesday night and we didn't have any clue what we were gonna do. Well I looked at our board of potentials and saw her name. I got the prompting we needed to go try her back! So we went and knocked on their door and she answered and before we said anything she said, "wait here! I have something for you!" To be honest I was nervous what she was going to come back with haha. She opened the door and was holding two bright orange shirts with yellow stripes!!WHAT???!! I was so pumped! She was like I realized after you left last time that I have like 50 of these because of work so I thought I would just give some to you! After I stopped jumping around like a 5 year old on Christmas we asked if we could teach her. She said yes. We ended up teaching her and her husband! Let's just say they are the most bomb, prepared people ever!!!!! We had the best Restoration lesson ever. The Spirit was so strong and they felt it! They have lots of different religious exposure and are worried about choosing one because they feel they can't know what is really right. I testified that they could! We told them about the Book of Mormon and about prayer! I got to use a cool analogy with the gospel and shopping;) By the end they said they would be baptized if they came to know it was true! They told us they would do the 1 Nephi challenge (read 1nephi in 10 days) and that we could come back the following Wednesday! Sister Orr and I walked out of that lesson and had a mini dance party in the parking lot! This Church is true! I cannot and will not deny it ever! I have seen how it changes people's lives! It brings more happiness than anything in this world! We have been yelled at multiple times this week and it has been hard for me! I have been told that I am crazy and I should stop trying to force my beliefs on people. In those moments, I remembered Bree and Tim and the Spirit that I felt telling us that these things are true. The world may criticize us. They might tell us we are crazy, weird, and wrong. Take heart and bear your testimony! Heavenly Father knows of our efforts:) There is no greater work than sharing the gospel! Have a great week! I love you all! Your Sister in Christ, Sister Northrup


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page