top of page

Where did the week go????

Okay I can't even believe it has already been another week! Time is flying by lately! I will hit my 6 month mark in like 3 weeks! What???!! I can't believe I am almost 1/3 through my mission. This week has been a blast haha! My companion and I pretty much laugh at everything! I am going to share some of the experiences that have been super fun and cool this week!

1. I ate real African food for the first time this week! We are teaching Christina and her daughter Kathy. They speak dinka!;) They are trying to teach my but I have stink at it haha. But they fed us this mushy rice with soup that your pour over it and you eat it with your hands. I asked for a spoon and they all laughed at me... It was actually super good though! Who knew I would go to Washington and it would feel like Africa?! 2. So we went over to teach Christina another day this past week and brought a member with us. Well she has a young son and he is generally really good and just plays with Christina's baby... well he had a rough day. He was like screaming and the member apoligized and then she just all the sudden just started to breastfeed in our lesson UNCOVERED! Oh my goodness it was so awkward and I looked at Sister Orr and her eyes were just huge and she looked terrified! But we just kept teaching and Christina didn't care so we just went with it haha! Sometimes the members are a little crazy.. 3. We went and taught Janiah and her siblings this week. They love love love primary songs! So at the end of the lesson we pulled up youtube videos of songs wit the lyrics and all sang together. The Spirit just flooded into the room. My favorite was scripture power haha! The kids just sang at the top of their lungs as they jumped with their scriptures held high. I love the example they set for me to be so excited about the gospel! Shouldn't we all be jumping for joy with a Book of Mormon held high? I am so proud to be a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints!! We can learn so much simple doctrine from singing primary songs:) 4. We taught Janiah twice this week and lets just say that the singing lesson was the good one of the two hahaha... The other one was complete chaos. Janiah's cousins came over to play.. so their were 8 little kids running around. One cousin was especially crazy haha.. and you will never guess her name. Tabekliana. When they said her name I had to hold back my laughter! Let's just say when you have 4 little black girls in one room, there is a lot of sass! They were all snapping their fingers all over the place and body rolling and pulling each others hair and oh man... it was a mad house. Hahaha but somehow we were able to bring it back and have a good lesson. God is good! 5. Next story! We are teaching a lady who is struggling a drug addiction. We have been doing our best to help her quit but lately she has been high during our lessons and when that is the case the Spirit can't testify of the things we are saying. Our last lesson we went over sat down and started discussing how she was doing. She said bad and that she just wanted to get rid of everything. She wants to quit so bad! She told us it was so tempting especially in the house. Sister Orr suggested that we get rid of the stuff. Well I have never ever seen drugs or really had anything to do with them so I got nervous. The lady said she wanted us to get rid of them... so she showed us where all of her drugs were hidden and we flushed it all down the toilet! It was a very different experience. I just can't believe that something that looks so nonthreatning can ruin so many people's lives! Addiction is so hard! We knelt and prayed after we got rid of everything and this lady offered the most sincere prayer begging our Father in Heaven to help her. The Spirit flooded into the room and I could feel the Savior's love for this precious Daughter of God! 6. Last but not least, we got a text from the Elders around 6 one night saying there was an older lady that needed some help moving in and that no one else could do it. We dropped everything and ran to her aid! She had a huge uhal that was full. And her apartment was on the 5th floor. We had a meeting at 8 so we went to work! Lets just say it is a good thing me and Sister Orr are buff because we had to move huge dressers and a matteress and countless boxes into the building, into the elevator, then to her room! It was insane! But we got it done thanks to Heavenly Father giving us the strength that we needed! All of those morning workouts helped too I think ;) This week was filled with so much hardship but was also one of the most rewarding weeks of my mission! We worked with all our heart, might, mind, and strength to serve those around us and Heavenly Father was there every step of the way! He lifts the weak and gives them the power to do his will. Mosiah 24:10-16 is one of my favorite stories. It shows that God is always with us when we ask for help. He doesn't always take away our hardship but He makes our burdens light as we move foreward with faith in our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ! I love you all so much! And so does He! Your Sister in Christ, Sister Northrup


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page