top of page

Mormons Rock!


What a week?! We have been beyond busy! All of your prayers for me to get better have been heard! I am feeling so much better and am so glad! We taught Kathy a lot this week and she is progressing so well. Earlier in the week we taught her about the Word of Wisdom and she told us she loves coffee and that it would be hard for her. We testified and shared some scriptures with her so that she could understand why God asks us to abstain from these substances. After some explaining, there was a moment of silence and Kathy was looking down kind of sadly. I was worried haha I thought she wasn't going to agree with it, but something amazing happened. Finally she looked up and she said with great confidence. I love God and I know he loves me. If God wants me to stop drinking coffee then that is what I will do. I will do anything if it means I will draw closer to Him. I smiled so big when she said that! I told her that we needed more people in the world like her! I have pondered what she said all week. Am I willing to do anything Heavenly Father asks of me? What will I give up to draw closer to Him?

It is crazy how I am supposed to be teaching Kathy about the Gospel, but she is teaching me more than I will ever teach her. I think that is the beautiful part of serving a mission. I am learning so much everyday from those I serve. Kathy has such a desire to do God's will and such a pure heart. I can't wait to see her get dressed in white and take one more step closer to her Savior who loves her so much. I love her!! Haha she is from Africa and I always ask her to tell me how to say words in her language. Then after I ask I repeat them in the most hillbilly cowgirl accent I can. She laughs so hard everytime! It is pretty fun haha! I have to give an explanation of my heading! So there was a relief society activity this week and they had an actual rock band there! It is a bunch of old guys that call themselves "Off Their Rockers" Hahaha they play songs from the 80s and change the words to things about the chruch. Like one is called I Love Sunday School! (to the tune of I love rock-n-roll haha) It was pretty hilarious to see a bunch of mormon bishops in wigs rocking out;) Last fun thing of the week.. We were out tracting and no one was answering the door.. No fun. But just as we were walking out of one of the apartment quads it started to pour. And when I say pour I mean pour.... We kept walking for in the rain for a minute then me and Sister Orr turned and looked at each other haha. We were dripping water. Might as well just got out of the shower! We busted up laughing and had a little dancing party in the rain while no one was around!! It was fun! I hope we all remember even in the downpour of life, we can find joy. We should always remember to be grateful and look for the blessings in every situation! I testify that the Savior loves all of you! He wants us to find joy in the journey! Hope you all have a great week! Much Love! Your Sister in Christ, Sister Northrup


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page